Woodland Indians Forum

You are not logged in.


#1 Mar-21-2011 12:22:pm

From: Texas
Registered: Oct-21-2006
Posts: 12082

Candidates Announced for CNO Election in June

March 11, 2011

Candidates Announced for Cherokee Nation Election in June

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — The candidates are now set for the Cherokee Nation general election to be held on June 25.  Eight Tribal Council seats will be on the 2011 primary election ballot. The remaining nine seats will be voted on in the 2013 election. In addition to the Council seats, citizens will have the opportunity to vote for the offices of Principal Chief and Deputy Principal Chief.

As of close of business on the last day of filing, a total of 32 candidates filed for 10 offices.  Those filing for seats include:

Office of Principal Chief:
Chadwick “Corntassel” Smith, Tahlequah (incumbent)
Bill John Baker, Tahlequah

Office of Deputy Principal Chief:
S. Joe Crittenden, Stilwell
Raymond Vann, Tahlequah
Callie Hathcoat, Park Hill
Chris Lee Soap, Pryor

District 1, Seat 2:
Joe Grayson, Jr., Tahlequah
Tina Glory-Jordan, Tahlequah (incumbent)

District 1, Seat 3:
Claude Stover, Oaks
Gary D. Stopp, Tahlequah
Jack E. McCrary, Oaks
Junior Sierra, Tahlequah
Mark Vance, Tahlequah
Pamela Iron, Park Hill
Brandon L. Girty, Tahlequah
David Walkingstick, Tahlequah

District 2, Seat 3:
Jodie Fishinghawk, Stilwell (incumbent)
Jackie Bob Martin, Stilwell
Harley L. Buzzard, Eucha (incumbent)
Jack A. Fourkiller, Stilwell
Vivian Garner Cottrell, Grove

District 3, Seat 2:
Janelle Lattimore Fullbright, Sallisaw (incumbent)

District 4, Seat 2:
Dick Lay, Ochelata
Linda Joyce Keener, Rose
Bradley Cobb, Bartlesville (incumbent)
Kenneth Allen Helton, Chouteau

District 5, Seat 2:
Ollie Starr, Claremore
Cara Cowan Watts, Claremore (incumbent)

District 5, Seat 3:
Joe Deere, Catoosa
Lee Keener, Jr., Claremore

At Large:
John William Cornsilk, Tahlequah
Julia Coates, Tahlequah (incumbent)

In addition to these seats, voters will also be deciding on ballot questions that are in the process of obtaining final approval.  More information will be forthcoming.

Legislation changing Cherokee Nation’s long-standing nine district arrangement to five districts was enacted by the Tribal Council in September of last year. Many voters who previously have only had one or two representatives on the Tribal Council will now have three.

A separate At-Large district is represented by two elected Tribal Council Seats, and is not affected by the redistricting legislation. The Council also approved an updated precinct list in October.

Tribal citizens should ensure they are registered to vote and can register any time between now and March 31. If you have voted in at least one of the last two previous elections you do not need to re-register. However, if you wish to change precincts or update your address, you must complete a new registration application prior to the deadline. To be eligible to vote in the tribal elections you must be a citizen of the Cherokee Nation who is at least 18 years of age.

Those who live outside the 14-county Cherokee Nation jurisdiction and others who will not be able to vote in person at their local precincts in the June 25 primary election have the option to request an absentee ballot. Absentee ballots may be requested by calling or writing the Cherokee Nation Election Services Office.  Absentee ballot requests will be accepted through May 13. Another voting option being offered is in-person absentee voting, which allows voters to cast their ballots at the Election Services Office in Tahlequah on the Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday immediately prior to the primary and runoff elections.

For other important election dates visit http://www.cherokee.org/docs/electionco … e_PDF.pdf.  For more information contact Cherokee Nation Election Services at 918-458-5899 or 800-353-2895.




#2 Mar-21-2011 01:13:pm

Registered: Sep-17-2007
Posts: 4299

Re: Candidates Announced for CNO Election in June

John Cornsilk trying again!



Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson